Towns and Cities
Brief History
  • Prior to the arrival of the Spaniards, the Naga-Libmanan area was already well-settled and prosperous.
  • In 1575, Capt. Pedro de Chavez founded Nueva Caceres (now Naga City)
  • On August 14, 1595, Pope Clement VIII issued a papal bull creating the Diocese of Nueva Caceres under the Franciscans, consisting of all the Bicol provinces including Masbate and Catanduanes, plus Tayabas and parts of Laguna and Nueva Ecija.
  • The province of Ambos Camarines was divided into two provinces in 1829
  • It was split again in 1857
  • Ambos Camarines was reunited once more in 1893.
  • On January 4, 1897, during the revolution, 15 Bicolano martyrs were executed by the Spanish for seeking independence.
  • On September 18, 1898, a revolt by the civil guards of Nueva Caceres led by Elias Angeles and Felix Plazo led to the last provincial governor's surrender on September 20.
  • Angeles formed a provisional revolutionary government with himself as politico-military governor.

The province has no well-defined dry season, but in the west and south, including the Bicol Plain, rainfall is substantially higher during the second half of the year. In the east and north, including the Caramoan Peninsula, maximum rainfall is from November to January.  The province is also occasionally hit by typhoons.  Average annual rainfall is 150.56 inches.


Rice is the principal crop and the province is referred to as the rice granary of the region.  Coconut and abaca are also grown commercially, largely for export.  About 27% of the land is timberland and lumber is a principal product.

Location and Topography

This province, the largest in the region, is bounded on the north by Camarines Norte, Quezon and San Miguel Bay, on the west by Ragay Gulf, on the east by the Philippine Sea and Lagonoy Gulf and on the southeast by Albay.  The deep indentations of San Miguel Bay and Lagonoy Gulf on the north and Ragay Gulf in the south are connected by long coastlines whose shores, although very rich fishing grounds, have remained undeveloped and underpopulated due to its difficult rough and mountainous terrain and lack of roads.  Almost all the important towns lie inland, in a straight line linked by the Maharlika Highway and by railway.

The vast and densely populated Bicol Plain cuts across the center of the province. The province is surrounded by 16 mountains and includes two extinct volcanoes; the 2,085-m. high Mt. Isarog and the 1,195-m. high Mt. Sumagang (or Mt. Iriga).  The remote and mountainous Caramoan Peninsula lies in the east.  There are three principal short and narrow rivers.  The Bicol River, navigable by small craft from San Miguel Bay up to Naga City, drains the province's central and southern parts.  The Sipocot River, which joins the Bicol River at Libmanan on its way to San Miguel Gulf, drains the southeastern part. Three picturesque lakes, Lake Buhi, Lake Bato and Lake Baao, dot the province’s rugged terrain.  The latter two are relatively large.

General Information
  • Area (sq. kms.): 5,266.82
  • Population (2000): 1,432,598 (the most populous in the region)
  • No. of Barangays: 1,105
  • Income Class: First
  • No. of Districts: 4
  • No. of Towns: 35
  • No. of Cities: 2
  • Capital: Pili
  • Area Code: 054
  • First District: Bato, Cabusao, Del Gallego, Libmanan, Lupi, Minalabac, Pamplona, Pasacao, Ragay, San Fernando and Sipocot.
  • Second District: Bombon, Calabanga, Camaligan, Canaman, Gainza, Iriga City, Magarao, Milaor, Ocampo and Pili.
  • Third District: Caramoan, Garchitorena, Goa, Lagonoy, Presentacion, Sagnay, San Jose, Siruma, Tigaon and Tinambac.
  • Fourth District: Baao, Balatan, Buhi, Bula, Nabua and Naga City.

Most of the people are Bicolanos who speak the Bicolano dialect.  However, migrants have brought Tagalog, Ilocano and Visayan strains into the culture and dialect.

Tourist Information Center
  • Provincial Tourism, Culture and Sports Office -  Provincial Capital Complex, Brgy. Cadlan, Pili (tel: 477-3172 & 475-7806, website:

Electricity is 220 volts and 60 cycles.  Electric power is distributed by CASURECO I (based in Libmanan), CASURECO II (based in Naga City), CASURECO III (based in San Jose, Iriga City) and CASURECO IV (based in Tigaon).



Forgot login?
You are here: Towns and Cities CAMARINES SUR (Region V: Bicol) GENERAL INFORMATION (CAMARINES SUR)